How does a sandstorm form?

A sandstorm or haboob is a wall of dust as a result of a thermal wind microburst or downburst due to unstable air currents. The air forced downward is typically pushed forward by the front of a thunderstorm cell, dragging dust and debris with it, as it travels across the terrain.