What makes a kitty purr?

Purring is usually a sign of contentment, though it doesn't always indicate happiness. A cat who is ill or anxious will sometimes purr as a comfort. The cat's laryngeal muscles twitch 25 to 150 times per second. This causes the vocal cords to separate during breathing, producing a purr.