Is red pepper the same as chili pepper?

Yes, red pepper is the ground up fruit of chili peppers or chilies.

---

Red chili peppers are chili peppers. Red bell peppers are a variety of bell pepper widely available as green, yellow, and red peppers with a somewhat sweet rather than spicy flavor.