What is a mosquito eater?

A mosquito eater is more properly named the crane fly. Mosquito eaters do not eat mosquitoes. They do, however, eat mosquito larvae during their larval stage, but only occasionally. Their main source of sustenance is flower nectar. They are harmless to humans.