What's the difference between sherry cooking wine and sherry vinegar?

Wine is juice which was fermented by action of yeast in the absence of oxygen, consuming sugar and producing alcohol. Vinegar is fermented by acetic acid bacteria, which consume sugar and alcohol and produce acetic acid. Wine vinegars, including sherry vinegar, have been through both processes.