Is b. b. eight a boy or a girl?

As a droid, BB8 is not a boy or a girl in the usual physical sense. A droid does have a distinct personality which may include traits which we tend to feel usually belong to boys, girls, or both. A special effects artist said BB8 started out "girlish" but became more "boyish." BB8s voice is male.