Is raw sugar the same as brown sugar?

Raw sugar is sugarcane that has only seen mild processing with natural bits of molasses, where as brown sugar is regular processed white sugar that has has had molasses added to it. While not identical, raw sugar and brown sugar can usually be used in the same ways