When do skeletons spawn?

Human Skeletons do NOT spawn. If you are asking about a game: "Wither Skeletons" only spawn in nether fortresses at any light level between 0 and 11 usually in groups of 4. Wither skeletons can spawn near carved pumpkins (22.5% chance) & sometimes spawn wearing a jack o’lantern (2.5% Chance).