What are cats thumbs made of?

The Dew Claw found on cats and dogs is not functional. While the appendage does have a claw there isn't any muscles to move the claw nor bones to link the claw to the arm of the animal. The underlying structure is mostly cartridge. The claw can be removed, by a vet., without damage to the animal.