What frenchman was convicted of treason in eighteen ninety four?

In 1894, Alfred Dreyfus, a French artillery officer of Jewish faith, was on trial and convicted on charges of treason. The incident was highly controversial and has gone down in history as the Dreyfus affair. It ultimately ended with Dreyfus's complete exoneration.