Where does lemongrass grow?

Lemon grass is a tropical perennial, native to southern India & Sri Lanka, & grows outdoors in practically all tropical regions of the world. It needs full sun & thrives in very hot weather, with well-drained soil. In the US it can grow in California & Florida but goes dormant during the mild winter