What is a read instrument?

A reed instrument is an instrument with a reed in its mouthpiece, such as an oboe, clarinet, or saxophone.

---

The clarinet, oboe, bassoon, and saxophone are examples of reed instruments. A reed is a thin strip of metal or synthetic material. A musical instrument is classified by the type and number of reeds it has.