Who was the basketball player george maiken?

George Mikan, was an American professional basketball player who was selected in an Associated Press poll in 1950 as the greatest basketball player of the first half of the 20th century. Standing at 6 feet 10 inches, he was the 1st of the outstanding big men in the post-World War II pro game.