How much damage can a hurricane cause?

Hurricanes can cause significant damage from water (most of the damage caused by hurricanes is from water) and from wind. While both water and wind damage may be "catastrophic", water damage affects most buildings in such an area while wind damages only buildings not up to recent building codes.