What does saved by the bell mean?

Saved by the bell is a boxing term which means that as soon as the bell rings to end the round, whether or not the boxer is flat on the canvas or barely standing he has been saved from losing because the bell has rang and he now gets to refresh for a few minutes in his corner.

---

Comes from sport of boxing . Bell rung after 3 minutes possibly prevents a knockout of one the fighters. Today meaning a prevention of some unwanted task or encounter.