What is qui-gon jinn?

Qui-Gon Jinn, a Force-sensitive human male, was a venerable if maverick Jedi Master who lived during the last years of the Republic Era. He was a wise and well-respected member of the Jedi Order, and was offered a seat on the Jedi Council, but chose to reject and follow his own path.