What does foe paw mean?

Faux pas - f a u x, p a s - is from the French. Literally, false step. It refers to an embarrassing or tactless act or remark in a social setting. For example, putting your elbows on the table at an elegant dinner would be a serious faux pas.

---

Faux pas is defined as an embarrassing or tactless act or remark in a social situation.