What does marvel's shield stand for?

SHIELD stands for Strategic Homeland Intervention Enforcement and Logistics Division. Previously it stood for Strategic Hazard Intervention Espionage Logistics Directorate. Originally it stood for Supreme Headquarters, International Espionage, Law-Enforcement Division.