Can you boil carbonated water?

Heating carbonated water will compel it to lose its dissolved CO2 more quickly. Boiling it will probably get rid of the carbonation entirely. It will certainly not ruin your kettle. The only way it could conceivably cause an explosion is if you boiled it under pressure.