Where does the term kit and caboodle originate?

Origin of this idiom The term ‘kit and caboodle’ originally came from the United States in the mid 19th century. The word caboodle is an old term which meant ‘everything’ or ‘the entire lot’ and kit refers to a set of items designed for a specific task.