How did rick allen lose his arm?

Richard John Cyril Allen is an English drummer who has played for the rock band Def Leppard since 1978. He overcame the amputation of his left arm due to a motor vehicle accident, in January 1985 and continued to play with the band, which went on to its most commercially successful phase.