How do you have a lucid dream?

A way to lucid dream is trick your brain with habit. For example, get in a habit of checking time twice in a row often. The habit of checking time may carry into dreams, and dream time is not consistent. I.e. first glance is 3:04. then 8:04. You then realise you are dreaming and can lucid dream.