What's the difference between a pellet gun and a b. b. gun?

BB guns fire spherical projectiles, while pellet guns fire conical, pointed pellets. Pellet guns can generally fire both styles of projectile, BB guns can only fire BBs. BB guns are less powerful, while pellet guns are the stronger option.