Why is zero in tennis called love?

One theory is that the word Love (for zero score) comes from the French word l'oeuf - which means egg which is the shape of zero. Another theory says the only thing keeping a scoreless player on the court is the love of the game.

---

The origin of the use of "love" for zero is also disputed. The most likely explanation is that it derives from the French expression for "the egg" (l'œuf) because an egg looks like the number zero.