When is the bar mitzvah?

A Bar (or Bat) Mitzvah is a coming of age ceremony for Jewish boys and girls when they reach the age of 12 or 13 marking the time when a boy or girl becomes a Jewish adult. They are now responsible for their own actions and can decide for themselves how they would like to practice Judaism.