What does h. i. e. r. o. g. l. y. p. h. s. spell?

H-I-E-R-O-G-L-Y-P-H-S spells "hieroglyphs," which refers to a set of stylized pictures that represent sounds, syllables, and words, in an ancient writing system, usually but not necessarily Egyptian.