Is nuclear fusion possible?

Nuclear fusion is possible only between light nuclei as they become more stable by acquiring greater atomic number to form particles with intermediate mass. Nuclear fission is possible with heavy nuclei.

---

More than possible. On 12/12/2022, scientists at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, announced they accomplished what they had been trying to do for decades. They produced a successful nuclear fusion reaction, resulting in a net energy gain, which replicated the fusion that powers the sun.