Is a strawberry an actual berry?

Not necessarily they are an aggregate fruit. Meaning they derive from a single flower with more than one ovary .

---

True berries are simple fruits stemming from one flower with one ovary and typically have several seeds. So Banana is a true berry while strawberry is not.