What happens if your appendix burst?

A burst appendix spreads bacteria into the abdomen causing peritonitis. A serious condition, peritonitis can be life-threatening in a matter of hours. Surgery to remove the appendix, repair any internal damage and lavage (washing out) is needed, followed by a course of antibiotics.