What makes a fruit a fruit and a vegetable a vegetable?

Fruit is a classification reserved for foods produced by the pollination of a plant, and fruits contain seeds or pits. Vegetables are plants or roots, and develop without being pollenated. That is why Tomatoes, and all its relatives are biologically fruits, not vegetables, but are not eaten as fruit