What is the verb catfish mean?

The verb catfish is slang and means to deceive or swindle by assuming a false identity or personality online. For example, he fell in love with her online before he realized he'd been catfished.

---

Catfishing is lying about who you are in order to manipulate someone online. If someone you have never met in real life wants cash or for you to travel to see them but not tell anyone it is likely you are being catfished.