How long does it take to cook four cups of rice?

For long-grain white rice, you should let it simmer for 18 minutes. For short-grain white rice, 15 minutes of simmering on your stove would be enough. Meanwhile, if you are cooking brown rice, you should let it simmer for 45 minutes.