What is a substitute for corn starch?

Cornstarch can be replaced with flour, arrowroot, potato starch, tapioca, and even instant mashed potato granules. The ingredient you are most likely to have on hand, of course, is flour, so we'll start with that. When you want 1 cup of liquid to be fairly thick, it takes 1 tablespoon of cornstarch.