Can you put garlic in the compost?

Yes, garlic can be composted but there are a couple of reasons why you might want to avoid using garlic in your compost, especially in large quantities. Garlic cloves have a tendency to re-sprout if left whole, so if you are going to compost your garlic make sure to chop it.