Who invented barbecue ribs?

Barbecue began when Homo erectus began cooking meat with fire about 1.8 million years ago, according to Planet Barbecue. But barbecues the way that Americans know them now originated in the Caribbean. It was so long ago nobody remembers who actually invented it.