Did aretha franklin ever sing opera?

Gospel, soul, and jazz singer, Aretha Franklin, never performed in an opera per se. But she did step in for Luciano Pavarotti at the 1998 Grammy Awards, where she sang "Nessun Dorma", when the famed operatic tenor was incapacitated by a sudden sore throat.