When was the loma prieto earthquake?

The Loma Prieta earthquake occurred October 17, 1989. The 6.9 quake was centered approximately 10 mi northeast of Santa Cruz on a section of the San Andreas Fault System, and was named for the nearby Loma Prieta Peak.