When was the loma prieto earthquake?

The Loma Prieta earthquake occurred October 17, 1989. The 6.9 quake was centered approximately 10 mi northeast of Santa Cruz on a section of the San Andreas Fault System, and was named for the nearby Loma Prieta Peak.

---

On October 17, 1989, at 5:04:15 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time, a magnitude 6.9 earthquake severely shook the San Francisco and Monterey Bay regions. The epicenter was located near Loma Prieta peak approximately 9 miles northeast of Santa Cruz and 60 miles south-southeast of San Francisco.