Why does maleficent have horns?

She was born with them. Maleficent is a high-spirited fairy-child, graced with enormous horns and gigantic wings that transforms into cruel, pissed-off sorceress is an act of violence.

---

The act of betrayal experienced by Maleficent twists her good and innocent nature. Her wings, in this case, could be viewed and understood as a reflection of God’s good nature. This good is taken from her, leaving her with only her horns, along with hurt and anger.