How long does it take food to go through your digestive system?

The process of digestion normally takes between 24 and 72 hours.

---

At first, food travels relatively quickly through your digestive system. Within 6 to 8 hours, the food has moved its way through your stomach, small intestine, and large intestine. Once in your large intestine, food can sit for more than a day while it’s broken down even more.