How much water should an adult drink a day?

Health authorities commonly recommend eight 8-ounce glasses a day, which equals about 2 liters, or half a gallon.

---

Health authorities commonly recommend eight 8-ounce glasses, or half a gallon. This is called the 8 x 8 rule and is very easy to remember.

---

The answer to that varies widely. Half a gallon is a typical suggestion, but the air temperature, humidity, body weight, amount of exercise, and sun exposure all have an impact. Typically you should have to use the bathroom every 2 hours throughout the day, if you are properly hydrated.