What is a gordian knot?

The term “Gordian knot,” commonly used to describe a complex or unsolvable problem, can be traced back to a legendary chapter in the life of Alexander the Great. He was able to undo a complicated knot that legend said could only be solved by the ruler of the land. Alexander cut it in half.