Who is the serpent king?

Jeff Zentner's debut novel, “The Serpent King,” focuses on three teen friends in Forrestville, Tennessee – a town named after the founder of the KKK and full of small-minded people. One kid's grandfather was called The Serpent King because he was obsessed with snake handling.