What is it called when lightning strikes sand?

The lightning has to strike rock or sand to make glass, and the resulting glass is called fulgurite. The reason lightning can make glass is because lightning has a LOT of energy. Because the lightning has so much energy, it can quickly melt the rock or sand to a liquid.