How fast do airbags move?

Airbags in a automobile explode at speeds of 200 MPH for 12 to 18 inches. Per NHTSA, an igniter in the inflator starts a chemical reaction that produces a harmless gas, which inflates the air bag within the blink of an eye – or less than 1/20th of a second.