When was j. e. l. l. o. invented?

In 1897 in LeRoy, New York, a man named Pearle Bixby Wait, a carpenter and cough syrup manufacturer, trademarked a gelatin dessert and named it 'Jell-O. ' He and his wife, Mary, added new flavoring to the granulated gelatin and sugar - such as strawberry, raspberry, orange and lemon.