Is bourbon and whiskey the same thing?

Bourbon is a whiskey with its own specific definition. Bourbon needs to be produced in America and made from 51 percent corn, and whiskey does not, Bourbon also needs to be stored in new charred-oak barrels, whereas whiskey barrels do need to be oak but not new or charred.