What are the names of the lions of the new york public library?

The nicknames of the lion statues outside the New York Public Library have changed over time. First they were named after the library founders, Astor and Lenox. Now they are known as Patience and Fortitude. The NYC mayor named them this during the Great Depression in the 1930s.