What was the cause of the persian war?

The Persian wars against Greece were caused because Darius, the Persian king, wanted to expand the empire. The wars took place in the early 5th century B.C. but the Persians lost the first battle. King Darius was humiliated and wanted to continue on which caused the series of wars.