What is venice sinking?

The city of Venice in Italy is built on wooden poles. With the climate changes, the ocean rises a little bit higher every year. At the same time the poles supporting Venice are slowly rotting away. This means that Venice will someday disappear into the ocean if engineers can’t find a way to save it.