What does it mean when lettuce turns red?

Lettuce leaves begin browning soon after harvest or purchase if not stored properly. Browning occurs from spoilage. Reddish-brown discolorations, called rust, occur when there is too much moisture on the lettuce head. ... Remove the outer leaves from the head of iceberg lettuce. LEAFtv